Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login
Preview:  Fireteam Indigo by Tekka-Croe Preview:  Fireteam Indigo by Tekka-Croe
Character art for the Halo story which :iconthe-crimson-wolf: and I had originally created back in high school. I've recently been working to bring the story up-to-date, taking place contemporary to the events of Halo 4 and Infinity.

While I'm working in Halo 4's beautiful style, I've tried to remain a bit more true to the Bungie aesthetic than 343i. Reconciling the visual stylings of the two developers will be a common thread in my Halo works.

Spartan Wulfgang "Wolf" a359, like most of Noble Team's members, was culled from Spartan-III Alpha Company and cross-trained with Mjolnir Armor, to act in a capacity similar to a Spartan-II. It's clear that Wulfgang would have been a large and powerfully built man regardless of Spartan augmentation, evidenced by the fact that despite being a Spartan-III, he stands easily as tall as a Spartan-II, and is quite capable of filling out a full-sized suit of MJOLNIR Gen-1 armor. His armor is a pragmatic mix of the Mk-V and Mk-VI armor. It's based on the Mark Six, but with help from some technicians, he's integrated a few of the Mark Five's legendarily rugged elements to the newer system. The result is a unique, hybridized suit of MJOLNIR armor which combines the strength and speed of the Mk-VI with the survivability of the Mk-V. As the selection process for the Spartan-IIIs was considerably less restrictive than that of the Spartan-IIs, the threes are more susceptible to behavioral issues. Wolf bears some resentment toward his new Spartan-IV squadmates, for one because they were truly given the choice to become Spartans. And two, because he doesn't think of them as "true" Spartans to begin with. He was in service at a time when the Spartans came to represent Humanity's last, best hope against extinction at the hands of the Covenant. While he respects everyone he fights alongside, Wolf see's the Spartan-IVs as playing at being something they're not. Of course, his opinions may change after working with a couple of Spartan-IVs in the field.

Spartan Reina McCloud began as a refugee from Miridem, the colony having been glassed by the Covenant when she was ten. She lived on Reach for several years, having been placed there by a refugee relocation program. Itching for payback against the Covenant, she signed on with the UNSC Marines on her eighteenth birthday. She graduated Marine Basic just days before the Covenant offensive on Reach, and her squad was deployed throughout the southern territories evacuating civilians. She fought alongside several ODST squads during this time, and developed a wanting to join their ranks (assuming of course, that she survived the current predicament). Having far too many empty drop pods to fill following the loss of Reach, Reina's transfer to the ODSTs was approved. She fought briefly on Earth, and spent the next year on mop-up assignments with her squad. When the Spartan-IV program was announced, She was quick to volunteer, having grown up with the news reporting on the legendary Spartans as the ultimate instruments of justice against the Covenant. While many of her ODST squadmates were less than enthused by this decision, they did let her keep the helmet, and she's still got the ODST's emblem- a flaming skull superimposed on the silhouette of a SOEIV drop pod- tattooed on her right shoulder.

(She's obviously a variation of my OC, Reina Cloude, but a few years older and almost a foot taller.)

Her MJOLNIR Gen-2 armor:
Helmet: ODST
Chestplate: Recruit (modified)
Shoulders: Air Assault
Gauntlets: XV-27 Shifting (modified)
Greaves: An original variant, which I haven't yet named.
Color scheme is based on my Spartan from Halo Reach.

The final member of the team is still in development. Prior to joining the Spartan-IV program, he was a supremely skilled Marine sniper. During the Battle of Reach, he scored 136 confirmed kills; 28 of those kills were scored while shooting out the side hatch of an airborne Falcon. He acts as Fireteam Indigo's dedicated sniper, always keeping the team covered from the shadows. Suggestions for his armor are welcome.

Halo (c) Microsoft, 343i
Characters, original armor components, artwork (c) :icontekka-croe:

EDIT 12/6/2012 I've drafted a more refined study of Spartan McCloud, which can be found here: [link]
Add a Comment:
Steampunkboy171 Featured By Owner Edited May 27, 2015  Student General Artist
I love your work my only critic is that spartans have to be trained when there young because other wise the changes they have done to there body disfigure them. The first spartans were volunteers liek your storys but none of them came out of training fit enough for combat. Other than that awsome art.
Tekka-Croe Featured By Owner May 29, 2015  Student Digital Artist
Sounds like someone hasn't been keeping up with Halo lore.

You're correct that the S1 program (also known as the ORION project, IIRC) consisted of volunteers such as Sgt. Johnson.

The S2 and S3 programs involved training subjects from childhood (the S2s having been kidnapped, and the S3s having been war orphans).

The S4 Program, introduced in Halo 4, consists of adult volunteers who undergo a simplified and less extreme version of the augmentations performed on the S2s and S3s.  That's what you're looking at here with the two shorter SPARTANs (the one in the middle is an S3).
Steampunkboy171 Featured By Owner Jun 1, 2015  Student General Artist
O okay sorry I havnt gotten around ro the new books yet. Either way excellent job on the spartans.
AmbulantChronothaur Featured By Owner Edited May 12, 2015  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Your grasp of shapes and how they interact with one another harmoniously is nothing short of amazing.
GraveJudgement Featured By Owner May 19, 2014
ichbastele Featured By Owner Mar 9, 2014  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Very cool  :)
UnknownWolf127 Featured By Owner Nov 23, 2013
The artwork is stunning! 
TomHologram Featured By Owner Nov 21, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
The Spartan who is a silhouette makes me think...

Who's that Spartan. 
Lanc3rZ3r0 Featured By Owner Nov 9, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
diggin the unicorn on a red field on Reina's collarbone area (left side, our right side) and the backstory. also how well youve brought the MJOLNIR into your own art styel
NooF147 Featured By Owner Oct 27, 2013
These both look amazing. 

The dude in the middle looks awesome. redesigned mk5 armor looks waaayy better than halo4's version.

I particularly like the spartan on the right. Especially the leg armor. you have effectively captured halo4's art style and created the ODST helmet and the leg armor and perfectly coupled it with that style. Fantastic work 
sanbi17 Featured By Owner Oct 20, 2013
Really late comment but, Your interest  in III's is awesome. My favorite spartan generation actually. Very nice artwork/story with wulf!
christopheandre1 Featured By Owner Oct 1, 2013

helmet : Mark 5

chestplate : sorry i forgot what it's called, but it is a noble sniper on "REACH" who wore

Shoulders : ricochet

Gauntlets : ODST

Color : blue (like "Caboose" of Red VS Blue ) and Mallow or purple


 that a good armor I think .


jtc1071985 Featured By Owner Sep 9, 2013  Hobbyist Digital Artist
I can make those characters in my copy of Halo 4 and send them to you if you'd like. :)
matt67potter Featured By Owner Aug 31, 2013
this concept looks better than the mark 5 in halo 4
Npact Featured By Owner Aug 2, 2013
I love the Spartan III's armor! Wish that's how Halo anniversary's looked.... Alas
QuickSilverswe Featured By Owner May 17, 2013
Recon or Scout for the third Spartan. Mabye the the Scanner helmet, since it really looks like some Marksman would use.
Commander-Fillmore Featured By Owner May 5, 2013
Very cool fireteam
Robsons-Rangers Featured By Owner Apr 21, 2013
I love that you are using the aesthetics of Bungie's Halo but using 343's style. I love 343 and think they are doing a great job, but I miss some of the things from Bungie's Halo. Seriously great work, and I love your characters, where can I find the story?
megadolon013 Featured By Owner Mar 14, 2013
My suggestion for the sniper armor is to keep it light. A sniper must move after every shot, At least in real live, And it is far removed from front line combat. Hencec armor to operate in a NBC environment but not excessive for front line combat.
toanuva295 Featured By Owner Feb 19, 2013
make the third one a spartan II. maybe your call
FireballWarrior Featured By Owner Feb 14, 2013
helmet: Wetwork
chest: Aviator
shoulders: Enforcer
gauntlets: XV-27 Shifting(modified)
greaves: Overlocking
colour: Colbalt and Silver
visor: Pioneer

So I have a name Idea, Corey. (rank) Corey Falins
thatdude17 Featured By Owner Jan 28, 2013  Student Digital Artist
your depiction of the mark V is the best one I have ever seen! (even Bungie's own depicted verions!)
WackyCoder Featured By Owner Jan 16, 2013
here's my idea for the 3rd tem member
helmet: Scanner or Commando
chest: Venator
shoulders: soldier
gauntlets: warrior
greaves: warrior
colour: any colour or shade
also amazing drawing
Spartan-055 Featured By Owner Jan 8, 2013  Student General Artist
the attention to detail in the armor is wht caught my eye with this.
ekajpalm Featured By Owner Jan 7, 2013
nice man that i amazing
509freak Featured By Owner Dec 26, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Awesome! I love it.
Echo009 Featured By Owner Dec 24, 2012  Professional General Artist
Here's my armor suggestion for the final member:

helmet: soldier
chest: recon
wrist: inner plated
legs: overlocking.
JasonWolfe Featured By Owner Dec 23, 2012
Wolf 359 *facepalm* . . oy

Nice designs. Wish you were still taking commissions. Would love to have my Reach Spartan done.
HenshinDaisuke Featured By Owner Dec 21, 2012
Dang I love these, makes me want to work on my old OC some more. Course I can't actually draw so that would slow me down lol.
shadowsonic098 Featured By Owner Dec 18, 2012
i love the look of the male spartan with that helmet this drawing is truely badass
XRaiderV1 Featured By Owner Dec 14, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
very nice work.
elijarman Featured By Owner Dec 8, 2012  Student General Artist
do u mind if i re:draw the Mark V. one?
lordofallevil3 Featured By Owner Dec 7, 2012
HELLA awesome!! Im tryin to learn to draw the Halo 4 look sooooo bad!! u think u could make Tutorials?!?
Can't wait for the story! sounds awesome!!!
LtAnthony Featured By Owner Dec 6, 2012
If you're still taking suggestions for the third spartan's armor i suggest the scanner helmet with the soldier chestplate and defender shoulder plates
7opalescence7 Featured By Owner Dec 6, 2012
nice work
Worgen Featured By Owner Dec 4, 2012
I'd just be repeating everything that was said already if I were to start complimenting you on how great I think these MJOLNIR designs of yours are, so I'm just going to say that I love the Star Trek reference that you snuck in there. ;)
Tekka-Croe Featured By Owner Dec 5, 2012  Student Digital Artist

And thanks, man.
Worgen Featured By Owner Dec 8, 2012
I was wonderin', would you allow me to use your Mark V/VI hybrid armor in my own Halo RP to represent the base Mark VI design? I've got a whole bunch of other changes that'd accompany it if you'd like to see a list.
CrashLegacy Featured By Owner Dec 4, 2012
So. awesome armor. I know how hard it is to get armor looking good and recognizable as variants of existing designs without straying too far from the source material.

I think it's worth pointing out that the base line Spartan IIIs are pretty much functionally identical to the Spartan IIs. While their augmentation process was notedly different the overall effects where the same, including their eventual height. to give you a idea of what I mean, Jun of Noble team was the same height as Master Chief. Jorge on the other hand was "huge even by spartan standards." Honestly I think making Jorge the on SII in Noble was a mistake since it promoted the idea that the SIIIs where smaller and weaker then the SIIs.
On the other hand, John-117 is shown to be to be of two differing heights in Halo 4. During the pre-rendered cut scenes John is easily a "head" and a half taller then the SIVs, and unagumented humans are even smaller (bout 2 heads shorter then the Chief if I had to guess). At all other times (i.e. when in game) John is exactly the same height as the Spartan IVs. Given the amount of detail put into the pre-rendered cut scenes and possible problems that can arise from different scaled actors using the same animation sets I'm willing to bet that John's height in these sections is for the sake of gameplay.
Any rate, this means that a SIII should easily be much taller then an SIV. I betting the size difference between SIV and others is based on the "when" of the augmentation process. that's to say, they are augmented when they join the Spartans, well after the growth spurts of puberty.
elitedark Featured By Owner Dec 4, 2012  Professional Artisan Crafter
ilove you work esta hermoso amo ese casco odst que diseņaste y lo are real para mi costume armor de halo 4 ya veras
AlmightyNabeshin Featured By Owner Dec 3, 2012  Student Traditional Artist
Damnit! Now I want to build this!

WHY DO YOU TORMENT ME!?!?!? :iconwhyplz:
action-figure-opera Featured By Owner Dec 3, 2012
I really like the Spartan in the middle. However, I would be in love with him if he had hip armor.
Tekka-Croe Featured By Owner Dec 3, 2012  Student Digital Artist
Oddly enough, the wrap-around hip armor was one of the only elements I didn't like in Bungie's armor design. IMO, having the hip armor be a single wrap-around component restricts flexibility more than it actually protects the hips.
action-figure-opera Featured By Owner Dec 4, 2012
There are a lot of flexibility issues with Spartan armor. The shoulders, elbows, abs, and knees are all very restricted. Fixing the hip is so minute that I prefer to keep it in.
0god02 Featured By Owner Dec 2, 2012
Nice work keep it up.
ShadowTribe Featured By Owner Dec 2, 2012  Student Digital Artist
Wulfgang looks like North from Red vs. Blue.
Rygartkrasnaya Featured By Owner Dec 2, 2012  Hobbyist Artist
You have no idea how much I want that armor in Halo 4 now. :/
Rygartkrasnaya Featured By Owner Dec 1, 2012  Hobbyist Artist
There needs to be a Halo 4 Mk 5. Seriously, I nominate this Design.
ObsidianGrey Featured By Owner Dec 1, 2012  Hobbyist General Artist
Amazingly badass
Bajireyn Featured By Owner Nov 30, 2012  Hobbyist Digital Artist
Looks good.

However, I think the Spartan-III should be a little taller, if he was as tall as as a Spartan-II, he would be around seven feet tall.
Add a Comment:


Submitted on
November 29, 2012
Image Size
707 KB


25,729 (16 today)
675 (who?)